Home » The Top 25 Symbols of Faith Across Cultures

The Top 25 Symbols of Faith Across Cultures

The human race is deeply spiritual, and our faith is often expressed through symbols that hold deep meaning and significance. These symbols vary from region to region, often transcending language and providing a common understanding among believers.

Here, we celebrate 25 symbols, each carrying the weight of spiritual stories and individual devotion from different cultures around the globe.

Whether they are recognized for their aesthetic values or the beliefs they represent, these symbols are universal in their power to inspire, unite, and reaffirm a connection to the divine.

The Crucifix

One of the most recognizable symbols, the crucifix represents the Christian faith. It reminds believers of Christ’s sacrifice and serves as a potent emblem of hope in the resurrection.

Star and Crescent

This symbol is an ancient Middle Eastern and Turkic Icon, often associated with Islam and the Ottoman Empire. Today, it continues to represent the Muslim faith.

Lotus Flower

Found across various cultures, the lotus flower symbolizes purity and enlightenment, often linked to Buddhism and Hinduism.


Om, or Aum, is a sacred sound and a spiritual icon in Indian religions, symbolizing the universe and ultimate reality.

Yin and Yang

A representation of the Taoist belief in balance, yin and yang highlight the interdependence of opposing forces in the natural world.


A significant symbol in Judaism, the menorah represents the purification of the Temple in Jerusalem and the lasting oil in the story of Hanukkah.


The Egyptian ankh is often seen as a key of life, providing the wearer with protection and eternal life in the afterlife.

See also  15 Intuition Exercises to Develop Your Intuitive Abilities


This Christian symbol, shaped like a fish, was used by early Christians as a secret symbol during times of persecution, representing the Greek word for fish, “ichthys,” which is an acronym for “Jesus Christ, Son of God, Savior.”


A symbol with eight spokes, the Dharmachakra represents the noble eightfold path of Buddhism taught by Buddha in his first sermon after reaching enlightenment.


A palm-shaped amulet, the hamsa is a popular symbol in the Middle East and North Africa, believed to protect against the “evil eye.” It is also an important symbol in Judaism and Christianity.

Eye of Horus

An ancient Egyptian symbol, the Eye of Horus is a protective motif, representing healing, restoration, and sacrifice.

Star of David

A symbol of Judaism, the Star of David features two interlocking triangles, representing the relationship between God and the Jewish people.


This complex spiritual emblem is found across Buddhism and Hinduism, symbolizing the universe and unity.


Labyrinths are often used as a spiritual tool in various faith traditions, including Christianity and Paganism, to promote introspection and prayer.

Eight-pointed Star

This star, found in various faiths, symbolizes different concepts such as rebirth and resurrection in Christianity and the principles of Ma’at in Egyptian culture.


A complex triple spiral, the triskele is a symbol of personal and spiritual growth, found in ancient Celtic and Neolithic contexts.

Miriam’s Cup

A relatively new addition to Passover celebrations, the Miriam’s Cup symbol has been incorporated into some Jewish traditions to honor the role of Miriam in the Exodus and celebrate women’s contributions to Jewish culture.

See also  15 Mysterious Symbols of Fate and Their Meanings


In the Hindu tradition, the kalash is a pot representing abundance and fertility, usually filled with water or other elements and topped with a coconut.

Endless Knot

A complex Buddhist symbol, the endless knot represents the interconnectedness of all things and the infinite nature of the universe.

Chi Rho

A monogram symbol of Christianity, the Chi Rho represents the first two letters of “Christ” in Greek and is often used to decorate church merchandise.

Crossed Keys

In Christianity, the keys represent the keys of heaven given by Christ to Saint Peter and are often associated with the papacy.


The hammer of the Norse god Thor, Mjölnir, is worn as a pendant and is a potent symbol of strength and protection in modern Heathenry.


The swastika, an ancient symbol with varied meanings in different cultures, represents the sun and good luck in many Hindu, Buddhist, and Jain traditions, though it was also infamously adopted by Nazi Germany.


In the Adinkra symbols of West Africa, the Akoma represents the power and patience of love, often referencing the heart.


This Hebrew word and symbol mean “life” and is often used in jewelry and as an amulet to guard against the evil eye in Jewish culture.

These 25 symbols are just the tip of the iceberg when it comes to the diversity of spiritual expression across the world. They serve as a reminder that despite our differences, faith is a unifying thread that weaves through the very fabric of human history and experience.


Back to top